Posted on: February 18th, 2014 by admin

The first episode of Quirke, the new three-part series based on the novels of Benjamin Black, aired on RTÉ last Sunday. The first episode, ‘Christine Falls’, starring Gabriel Byrne and Michael Gambon, is viewable on the RTÉ Player website for another three weeks at

John Banville reviews Isaiah Berlin’s Building

Posted on: January 3rd, 2014 by admin

Letters 1960-1975 in the latest edition of The New York Review of Books.

Read more

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards

Posted on: December 11th, 2013 by admin

John was presented with the ‘Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award’ on 26 November at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards. Past recipients include Maeve Binchy, John McGahern, Edna O’Brien, William Trevor and Seamus Heaney.

To mark the award’s announcement, John was interviewed by Sophie Gorman in the Irish Independent.

ISLA (Irish Spanish Latin American) Literary Festival

Posted on: October 16th, 2013 by admin

John will be making the opening speech at this year’s ISLA (Irish Spanish Latin American) Literary Festival in Dublin’s Instituto Cervantesthis Friday (18 October) at 4pm. Admission is free and open to the public. He will also be participating in two of Saturday’s events. Click here for full programme listings.

Franz Kafka Reviews

Posted on: October 9th, 2013 by admin

John Banville reviews three recently published books on Franz Kafka in the latest edition of The New York Review of Books. The entire review may be read here

Read more

Posted on: September 9th, 2013 by admin

John received 2 prizes recently the XIII Premio Leteo , awarded by the city of León in Spain, and the Premio Liber, awarded by the Association of Spanish Publishing Houses.

Posted on: August 17th, 2013 by admin

John is to receive the Leto Prize 2013 on October 1st. Other recipients include Michel Houellebecq, Amelie Nothomb, Martin Amis, Paul Auster and Enrique Vila-Matas

PEN Award

Posted on: February 25th, 2013 by admin

John received the the 2013 Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Achievement in Irish Literature.

In keeping with the tradition started in 1935, (when the WB Yeats Dinner took place), the annual Irish PEN Award is presented in the company of other leading writers. Members of Irish PEN, as well as previous winners, nominate and vote for the candidate. Since 1999, the award recipients have included John B Keane, Brian Friel, Edna O’Brien, William Trevor, John McGahern, Neil Jordan, Seamus Heaney, Jennifer Johnston, Maeve Binchy, Thomas Kilroy, Roddy Doyle, Brendan Kennelly and Joseph O’Connor.